Clubs & Activities

Clubs and Activities

Joining a club is an excellent way to meet new people, explore your interests and get involved in the community. Here is a list of approved clubs for the 2016-2017 school year. Our clubs are driven by student interest. If you don’t see a club that interests you, start a new club


Astronomy Club

Learn more about planetary science and astronomy in addition to keeping up to date with news of and advances in astrophysics.  We will enrich preexisting interest in space with active experience, and allow new students to explore the science to broaden their range of sciences.

Meeting Time: Lunch breaks, 45 minutes; selected stargazing nights

Place: Ms. Michael's room; back deck for stargazing nights

Faculty Contact: Lisa Michael; lisa.michael@pcscharter.org


 Feminist Coalition

Raise awareness through discussion of women’s rights, gender equality and current issues.

Meeting Time:  Every other Thursday, lunch period

Place: alternating classrooms

Faculty Contact: Gabe Cohn; gabriel.cohn@pcscharter.org


Fusion Dance Company

Choreograph and learn dances to a variety of musical and cultural genres. Dance Fusion performs at school functions and hosts a big show each February.

Meeting Time: Mornings before school

Place: On Campus

Faculty Contact: Janelle Christensen; janelle.christensen@pcs.edu


Futures

Learn about investing in the stock market through simulated investing.

Meeting Time: once per month during tutorial; 9/20, 10/18, 11/22, 12/20, 1/24, 2/21, 3/21, 4/18, 5/23, 6/20

Place: selected conference room

Faculty Contact:  Chris Nestlerode; chris.nestlerode@pcscharter.org


National Honor Society

Supports the Honor Society and perform community service to encourage student academic performance, leadership skills and community service.

Meeting Time: TBD

Place: TBD

Faculty Contact: Lisa Michael


Red Cross Club

Increase youth involvement in organizing blood drives

Meeting: TBD

Place: Student Center

Faculty Contact: Sonya Kiernan; sonya.kiernan@pcsed.org


Thespian Club

Support excellence in international theater acting, directing and play production.

Meeting Time:  Wednesdays at lunch

Place: Drama Room

Faculty Contact:  Cynthia Gorski; cgorskisings@sbcglobal.net


Ultimate Frisbee (Junior High & High School)

Junior high & high school students can have fun playing Ultimate Frisbee

Meeting:  Wednesday and Friday, 3:45 to 4:45

Place: Natural Bridges Elementary Fields

Faculty Contact: Scott Lipscomb; smlipscomb@me.com


 Animation Club

A seminar that exists to teach students how to use the animation software and provide a space for animation enthusiasts to talk.

Meeting:  THursdays, lunch break

Place: Mr. Lai's room

Faculty Contact: Trung Lai; trung.lai@pcsed.org

 


 

Math Club

Allows students to further their love of math outside of the traditional classroom environment.

Meeting:  Fridays at lunch break

Place: Rm 116

Faculty Contact: Trung Lai; trung.lai@pcsed.org

 


 

Mock Trial

Exciting way for students to learn about the legal system and exercise their critical thinking and oral presentation skills.

Meeting:  Tuesday evenings 5:30-7:00 pm and during seminar.

Place: selected classroom

Faculty Contact:  Christine DeCaporale; christine.decaporale@pcsed.org

 


 

Model United Nations

Enriches student life by teaching debate skills, argumentative writing styles, United Nations procedures, and most importantly, real world events and problems.  It educates students on the world around them and how they can change it.

Meeting:  1.5 hrs after school and 45 minutes during school

Place: large conference room for after school meetings and selected classroom during school

Faculty Contact: Annie Marshall; annie.marshall@pcsed.org


 

Mountain Bike Club

Supports outdoor activity and fitness.

Meeting:  Tuesdays, 3:30-5:30 pm, race on weekends

Place: TBD

Faculty Contact:  Hillary Daniels; hillary.daniels@pcsed.org

 


 

Philosophy Film Club

The study of film and philosophy pushes students to engage with culturally relevant material in a novel intellectual way.

Meeting: After school movie watching and discussion

Place: class room TBD

Faculty Contact: James Henrick; james.henrick@pcsed.org

 


 

Surf Club

To cultivate new friendships, encourage comfort in the ocean and have fun surfing.

Meeting:  TBD

Place: TBD

Faculty Contact: Randy Garrett; randy.garrett@pcsed.org

 


 

TAG

Bring students together to promote thoughtful discussion on important issues and topics.

Meeting:  Lunch break every other week

Place: Mr. Henrick or Ms. Cervine room

Faculty Contact: James Henrick; james.henrick@pcsed.org

 


 

TEC Club

Students will be able to work on projects that interest them and will learn how to use technology to further their projects.

Meeting:  Tuesdays at Lunch break

Place: Mr. Lai's room

Faculty Contact: Trung Lai; trung.lai@pcsed.org

 


 

Wrestling Club

Meeting Time:TBD

Place: TBD

Contact: Rob Raffaelli at robraffaelli@gmail.com

 


 

Key Club

Improving the community by doing various community service activities and focuses on those who need help.

Meeting:  one day per week at lunch break or after school.

Place: TBD

Faculty Contact: Kelsey Cervine; kelsey.cervine@pcsed.org

 


 

Cards Club

Opportunity for people to come together and play cards.

Meeting:  Lunch break and free periods

Place: TBD

Faculty Contact: Bill Koens; bill.koens@pcsed.org

 


 

Gay Straight Alliance (Rainbow Alliance)

Helps with student engagement and diversity.

Meeting:  Mondays, lunch break

Place: Ms. Roth's classroom, 233

Faculty Contact: Andrea Roth; andrea.roth@pcsed.org

 


 

PCS Underground Book Club

Allow students to explore genres of literature that they may not yet have read, as well as, allow them to further their thinking and analysis of literature.

Meeting:  Every other Wednesday at lunch break

Place: Rm 213

Faculty Contact: Christine DeCaporale; christine.decaporale@pcsed.org

 


 

ECO Club with Global Student Embassy

To create an organic garden at PCS and conduct environmental advocacy while making PCS a more sustainable place.

Meeting: Thursdays at Lunch break and Friday after school

Place: Garden under the deck, study hall large conference room and Mr. Garrett's room

Faculty Contact: Nick Coonrod; nick@globalstudentembassy.org

 


 

Student Government

Meeting Time:TBD

Place: TBD

Faculty Contact: TBD